Monday, March 21, 2011

Clements Library Fellowships Announced

First Post-Doctoral Fellowships Awarded

Five post-doctoral fellows will be in residence at the Clements Library during 2011 thanks to awards made from our four new fellowships.  These are designed to fund extended research in the Library’s outstanding collections.  This is the first class of post-doctoral fellows in a continuing program to support advanced scholarship, and we look forward to the books that will result from their visits.  Many thanks to the foundations and individual donors who have made these fellowships possible.

Prof. William A. Hay of Mississippi State University is the recipient of the Howard H. Peckham Fellowship on Revolutionary America for his book topic, “King George’s Generals: How the British Army Lost America.”

Prof. Michael J. Bennett of High Point University has been selected for an Earhart Foundation Fellowship on Civil War America for his book topic, “The Soul in Battle: Restraint and Retaliation in the Civil War.”

Dr. John Casey of the University of Illinois at Chicago will receive an Upton Foundation Fellowship on Civil War America for his book topic, “The Vanishing Civil War Veteran in Late-Nineteenth-Century American Literature and Culture.”

Dr. Amy Lippert of The American Academy of Arts and Sciences is the recipient of an Upton Foundation Fellowship on Civil War America for her book topic, “Consuming Identities: Visual Culture and Celebrity in Nineteenth-Century San Francisco.”

Prof. Gregory J.W. Urwin of Temple University has been awarded an Earhart Foundation Fellowship on American History for his book topic, “When Freedom Wore a Red Coat: A Social History of Cornwallis’ 1781 Virginia Campaign.”

2011 Jacob M. Price Visiting Research Fellowships

The Library did not offer the popular Price Fellowships in 2010, so it is a particular pleasure to report that we have made awards to ten promising young scholars for 2011.  All will visit to consult our collections in support of their research.

Prof. Christian A. Crouch, Bard College, for her book topic, “The Savage Nobles: New France and Martial Practice in the French Atlantic Empire, 1748-1768.”

Huw Thomas David, University of Oxford, for his dissertation, “Trade, Politics, and the Unfinished Business of American Independence, 1783-1795.”

David T. Flaherty, University of Virginia, for his dissertation, “British Visions of Empire and the Aggressive Imperial Project for the North American Frontier, 1713-1783.”

M. Scott Heerman, University of Maryland, College Park, for his dissertation, “’The Nations of This Continent’: Slavery and Making the American Republic in the Mississippi Valley, 1750-1840.”

Trenton Cole Jones, Johns Hopkins University, for his dissertation, “Deprived of Their Liberty: Prisoners of War and American Military Culture, 1775-1783.”

Andrew F. Lang, Rice University, for his dissertation, “Liberators, Occupiers, and Protectors: The Culture of Soldiering Behind the Lines During the American Civil War.”

Christopher F. Minty, University of Stirling, for his dissertation, “Popular Loyalism and Counter-Revolution in the British Atlantic World, c. 1776-1800.”

Jennifer K. Snyder, University of Florida, for her dissertation, “Black Flight: Tracing the Loyalist Slave Diaspora Throughout the Revolutionary Atlantic World.”

Matthew P. Spooner, Columbia University, for his dissertation, “Origins of the Old South: The reconstruction of Southern Slavery, 1778-1808,”

Aaron Sullivan, Temple University, for his dissertation, “In the Jaws of the Lion: The British Occupation of Philadelphia and the Disaffected Center of Revolution.”

No comments:

Post a Comment